Greek Mythology Book Tag

***Photo by Arthur Yeti on Unsplash

Heyyy, it’s Peachy!

I wasn’t specifically tagged for this but I saw a post by Rachael over at Scorpio Book Dreams, but the tag was originally created by Jasmine of Flip That Page.

survey

design

gods

Zeus (Jupiter)

God of the Sky and Thunder / King of the Gods

Favorite book (choose your own category!): 

1885

It will have to be the book that made me fall in love with classic literature (and maybe reading, in general – though I honestly cannot remember a time when I did not like reading!) Pride & Prejudice convinced me that literature is an art form.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

 

Poseidon (Neptune)

God of the Seas and Earthquakes

Book that drowned you in feels:

19063

I watched the movie first, and loved it. Little did I know that the book will be even more phenomenal, it will forever be one of my favorites (on some days, I’m convinced that it trumps P&P^^^, but not today, apparently). I cried when I watched the movie. And when I read the book, despite everything that I know, I bawled again. SO. MUCH. FEELS.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Hades (Pluto)

God of the Underworld

Favorite book with a dark / ominous plot:

34144430

 

I’d go with this one, since it gets dark pretty quick! I read this one sitting, I believe (with mini water/pee breaks, haha!) I really like how it stayed true to the genre until the end, and the multiple POVs gets you going!

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Hera (Juno)

Goddess of Marriage and Family

Cutest fictional couple:

37552251

 

I have such a special place for Claudia & Gideon! This is one of the very few YA contemporary couple I absolutely adore as individuals – I love Claudia apart from Gideon, and I sure love Gideon apart from everyone else! But these two together, are just so DANG CUTE.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

Athena(Minerva)

Goddess of Wisdom, Handicraft and Strategic Warfare

Series with the best world-building:

220552622076487929939230

A lot of people will say Harry Potter so I’m going with something else (because I am not going to argue, J.K. Rowling is not even done building the HP world yet, because POTTERMORE!), and I thought of Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass and ACOTAR – but, forgive the pun, the world that V.E. Schwab created in the ADSOM trilogy is MAGICAL. 

Add to Goodreads (1)

Aphrodite (Venus)

Goddess of Love and Beauty

Most beautiful cover on a 2018 release:

***This tag was created in 2014, so I just updated the year!

36502054

I luckily got an ARC (it’s out end of July!) for this, but I might just splurge and buy it anyway because I really love the cover!! It’s beautifully ominous and enticing. Need I say more??

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Ares (Mars)

God of War and Bloodshed

Most violent book you’ve ever read:

35068678

 

Gladiator battles between monsters and desperate prisoners, pretty violent eh? I don’t know if it’s the most violent book I EVER read, but I’ll go with this.

>>>check out my review!

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Hephaestus (Vulcan)

God of Blacksmiths and Fire

Scorching hot swoon worthy character:

22571663

While reading this series, I had the TOTAL HOTS for Laurent. I mean I’m cheering for the wrong team *yeah, I probably just made a new expression* but still…

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

 

Artemis (Diana)

Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine:

3364399436682619 Add to Goodreads (1)

Since I’ve already answered P&P, I’ll give some other books a chance.. so instead of Elizabeth Bennet, I’d say Alosa will be my next favorite – and she literally kicks ass, if I remember correctly (don’t quote me on that, haha!) Anyway, I remember being so happy when I started suspecting she was a siren in DOTPK and it made me sooo happy, because I didn’t think she could get any cooler.

>>>check out my review of DOTSK

Phoebus Apollo (Apollo)

God of Light and Healing

Sequel book that redeemed its series: 

35068736

 

It’s so rare for me to move on with a series if I didn’t like book 1, but I read this because I already got the ARC before I found out that there was a book 1. I read 99 Days first, and really did not like it, I couldn’t even recommend it. But this one redeemed the characters and the plot, and it just redeemed it overall. I would suggest skipping book 1 altogether.

Add to Goodreads (1)

Hermes (Mercury)

Messenger God of Thieves and Commerce

Book with the best message:

36289256

 

THIS. You can find out more of what I have to say about this book in my review, but basically, the message is:

Amidst all the pain, the suffering, the hate – we can choose to forgive, we can choose to love. Everybody, Always. WE CAN CHOOSE LOVE.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

Hestia (Vesta)

Goddess of the Hearth and Home

Book with the most relatable story: 

30125907

I can’t really explain it, but I connected with Anne so much. I just loved her and I thought if I could have one friend in all the world that’s a book character, I would choose Anne. I can relate to her less about the plot or what happened to her, but more on how she sees the world.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Demeter (Ceres)

Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture

Favorite bookish setting:

1724160

Before I knew of any fantasy world, I wanted the secret garden to myself. To this day, I still daydream about the future when I get to create my own secret garden. I can’t wait.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Dionysus (Bacchus)

God of Wine and Celebration

2018 / 2019 release you are most anticipating:

*Again, I updated the years on this. 

2544634333590260

I can’t really pick between the two so I’m cheating and including both! I JUST NEED TO KNOW HOW IT ALL ENDS.

design

heroes

Percy Jackson

a brave, spirited natural leader with a sarcastic sense of humor, and a will to save friends and enemies alike

Favorite protagonist:

31944679

 

Incidentally enough, Elliott is a perfect match to the description about Percy Jackson – I even mentioned the similarity in my review!

In Other Lands is definitely one of my most favorite fantasy reads, Elliott not being the least of my reasons!

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

Annabeth Chase

intellectual genius with a strong mind, brave heart, and a love for architecture

Series / book with the cleverest plot:

33843362

 

It’s a gender-bender The Talented Mr. Ripley (which I only knew about because of the movie starring Matt Damon) but I thought the start-from-the-end chapter countdown is very clever, along with everything that follows.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Jason Grace

 has a moderate sense of humor, but a strong sense of honor, justice and compassion, often described as perfect

Book with an epic finale:

29236299

After the crazy twists in Illuminae, I didn’t think Gemina can be as good, but boy, was I wrong. Now, I feel like Obsidio has some crazy expectations to meet.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

 

Piper McLean

aggressive and persuasive but down to earth, caring and loving towards Jason, her friends and family

Book with a tempting synopsis (one you haven’t read!):

127455

Have heard SO MUCH about this and I just want to read it already, I  wish I had a copy!!! But it’s a series, so I don’t even want to get pulled into that yet.

Set in a fantastic city pulsing with the lives of decadent nobles and daring thieves, here is a story of adventure, loyalty, and survival that is one part “Robin Hood”, one part Ocean’s Eleven, and entirely enthralling… 

Add to Goodreads (1)

Leo Valdez

good-natured and energetic, funny but intelligent, honest and witty, and is skilled with machines

Book that made you laugh:

301022516182581955123384380

Add to Goodreads (1)

Ruby Oliver is just so funny, this whole series just made me laugh out loud. I love it so much.

Hazel Levesque

bright  and outgoing despite an unfortunate childhood, is mature for her age and has a love for horseback riding

Favorite character with a tragic past: 

34323570

 

Well, Simon does… my brain is shutting down at this point, so I’m rolling with that.

I mean he has scars and everything, too.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Frank Zhang

somewhat shy, cynical, and clumsy, though he possesses a strong sense of duty, loyalty, and love

Book you loved more than you thought you would: 

7869010

I would have never guessed how much I would come to love this book. It always come up as one of those modern coming-of-age classics and I wanted to read the book then go watch the movie. Little did I know that I would vow NEVER to watch the movie, because of the sacred ground that this book will become for me. I don’t want to see any other version of Ponyboy or anyone else, but mine.

Add to Goodreads (1)

Nico di Angelo

grim, solitary, powerful and mysterious, highly unpredictable and selectively affectionate

Most mysterious character you’ve ever encountered:

27883214

 

As far I can remember, probably Legend from Caraval – but I suppose that might be less true after I read the upcoming sequel, Legendary! But really, nobody knows what his real deal was up until the end, and maybe, just maybe, we’ll never know.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

 

Grover Underwood

cheerful, upbeat and protective satyr who chews on furniture when he gets nervous

Book you won’t read due to warnings against them: 

29844228

I’m never one to steer clear of a book just because of warnings – rather, it has the opposite effect on me. I want to read it the more people think I shouldn’t. So this is probably as close as I’m going to get. I watched the popular Netflix series so obviously, I know the subject and the plot, etc. and I don’t think I’m interested at all to read it, after that. Although this is more rooted to the fact that I’m afraid the series was done so well in that media, I don’t feel the need to dwell more on the subject.

Add to Goodreads (1)

 

Clarisse La Rue

arrogant and hot-tempered, but brave, strong and protective of camp

Most annoying character:

22836575

 

I expanded on why in my review, but my answer is Molly Barlow.

This girl just keeps making the wrong decisions, and she knows it, too. Even 9 Days & 9 Nights never really fully redeemed her character, but at least then she was tolerable.

No, you do not want to add this to your Goodreads TBR. LOL.

 

Also, I’m just tagging 5 people to do this (just if you feel like doing it!) + YOU, whoever you are who’s reading this!

 

Wow, okay, that was super long and it took me a couple of hours to compile. But if you’re still here, DOUBLE WOW, you’re a champion! THANK YOU!! ❤

I’d love to hear some of your answers for this survey!

And if you do decide to write your own post on it, please come back and comment your links below so I can check them out! 

Sincerely Peachy (1)

8 thoughts on “Greek Mythology Book Tag

Now, your turn...