BOOK REVIEW: Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

You might get only one shot. So shoot.

Synopsis: Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

Published October 2016

Genre: YA Scifi

Themes: space, technology, survival, illegal 

Series: The Illuminae Files #2

Other books in the series:

Amazon* / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

*As an Amazon Associate, I receive a mini % of sales price every time you use my link to purchase an item. Thank you! ^_^

Goodreads

Patience and Silence had one beautiful daughter. And her name was Vengeance.

I’ve heard total mixed reviews about this, even from avid fans of Illuminae. Of course, I was wont to believe the more negative reviews, so even though I thought it was still worth a read and couldn’t be that terrible, I didn’t go in with very high expectations either.

Well, I was wrong.

Much to my delight, Gemina is everything that I loved about Illuminae and would have still satisfied my expectations even if it were high.

I have to admit, the dynamic and exchanges between Hanna and Nik very much resembles that between Kady and Ezra, but for me, that worked to their advantage because that is what I loved about Illuminae and was afraid I will lose when I move on to Gemina with brand new characters; it made me for a smooth transition balancing with enough distinct characteristics in the new main characters! I especially loved the illustrations featured in Hanna’s diary entries – they’re so amazing, and it added yet another dimension to the spectacular multimedia style of The Illuminae Files. 

Long story, short – I loved Gemina as much as I loved Illuminae. I’ve suspended reading Obsidio, because I realize that when I’m done with that, I’m done with the series, and that’s a bittersweet fact – it’s such a unique and engaging series it’s really not fair to compare it with anything else.

That’s all I have to say for now. I’ll be back to review Obsidio as soon as I finish it!

P.S. If you have not read Illuminae until now (shame on you! 😛 ) I urge you to do so!!! There’s so much fun you’re missing out on!

If you liked Gemina, I think you might like: 

Let’s chat!

So, what did you think of Gemina? Have you read/started Obsidio yet??

If you happen to be one who did NOT like The Illuminae Files, I’m curious to know what aspects you didn’t like about it… 

Sincerely Peachy (1)

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Aimee!
      Also, WHHYY??! Gemina introduces new characters but in the final installment, Obsidio, it all comes together. It’s genius, really. It’s probably the most unique reading experience.

      Like

Now, your turn...