BOOK REVIEW: Daughter of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller

Oh, hi! How’s the weather where you are? Here, it’s been snowing since yesterday, and I just got in from shoveling probably around 8 inches of snow (I’m tired and I can’t feel my face and my thighs are numb) – and get this, it’s the second day of spring! I can’t wait for a snow-free spring day!

It’s been about a year since I got introduced to Tricia Levenseller‘s DoTPK – it was the book featured in last year’s Owcrate February Ships, Sailors, & Seas!

And since then, Alosa joined the ranks of some of my most favorite heroines!

Daughter of the Pirate King was a super quick and fun read, with a surprising hint of fantasy combined with action and adventure and a fierce heroine. This month, I was finally able to read the much-anticipated sequel, Daughter of the Siren Queen.

I may not have been born in the sea, but I was born to rule it. I am the daughter of the siren queen.

My synopsis: Alosa’s adventures with her crew continue as they infiltrate Vordan’s hideout for revenge and to retrieve the last piece of map that leads to the legendary hidden treasure. Her interrogations with Vordan leads her to discover a truth about her father, the Pirate King. Her choices set her path exactly against her father and she must embrace being a siren. Riden seems to hold the key to controlling her siren blood, but can she trust him?

Published February 27, 2018

Genre: YA Fantasy, YA Adventure, YA Romance

Themes: pirates, sirens, mermaids, romance, parents, family, courage, treasure, voyage, crew, team, friendship, greed

Series: Daughter of the Pirate King #2

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

It’s not a question of if you’ll win. The only question is whether you will choose to fight.

I enjoyed Daughter of the Siren Queen, just as much as, if not more than, the first book. It was absolutely just as fun and thrilling. My favorite aspect is learning more about the different members of Alosa’s crew – my favorite is Kieran! I also liked that we got to see both the kick-ass pirate side of Alosa, but also her dangerous and seductive siren side – it was particularly enjoyable to read her point of view whenever her siren blood takes over.

For a relatively short read, it’s packed with action, romance, drama, and humor. After it was over, I didn’t really want it to be over, because it’s just mad fun to read about their adventures. Although there were some sad stuff that happened, it was a mostly lighthearted read.

If you haven’t read DoTPK yet or DoTSQ, I very much recommend for you to do so, especially if you love Pirates of the Carribean!

Have you gotten a chance to read DoPTK yet?

Who is your favorite out of all of Alosa’s crew?

What other books have you read that feature sirens/mermaids and/or pirates?

Sincerely Peachy (1)

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Daughter of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller

  1. I can’t even accurately express how much I loved these books. They were too short and I wish we could have more! Great review, it’s inspiring me to get my own review done. I can’t wait to rerread both of these, they may be some of my most favourite YA fantasy books ever. It took me until December 2017 to read the first one (even though I got it in my Owlcrate) and I can’t believe I waited that long. As soon as I was done, I preordered the sequel!

    Liked by 1 person

Now, your turn...