UNBOXING: Owlcrate June 2022 – OF ROMANCE AND RIVALRY ❤️‍🔥

I’m officially falling behind my unboxing posts, as I’ll be doing May/June out of order. My June box came yesterday so I decided to post this first, then I’ll come round and do May (which was actually one of the best this year so far, so kind of like saving the best for last!)

As always, here’s a preview of everything in the box!

What’s in the box?

❤️‍🔥Pride & Prejudice, cover designed by @rena.illustration

P&P will always be my favorite classic and I was so excited for this one, but so far I’ve been really underwhelmed by the covers on these as they remind me of adult coloring pages – I also thought the illustration is uninspired but I’m a harsh critic, when it comes to book covers, especially my favorite classics (since there are already so many great editions out there, it’s a tough competition!).

❤️‍🔥Kingdom of the Wicked wooden wall hanging by Riddle & Ravens

You all probably have heard of Kerri Maniscalco’s popular KoTW series – I do like the design on this, however I find it more and more difficult to find places for stuff, especially stuff I have to hang, but this will probably look good with my boxed Barnes & Noble set!

❤️‍🔥Crescent City tote bag by Iron and Ink Designs

Considering I have yet to read Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass finale book, Kingdom of Ash and I’ve been keeping up with the releases of the ongoing ACOTAR series, I don’t feel keen on starting yet another SJM series. I do enjoy her worlds, but it gets to be too dense and repetitive if I read too much of her works. Although I am very proud that I’m ready for her next ACOTAR book since I actually read her latest ACOSF around release date, but I’ll feel A LOT better if I finally can come back and finish Kingdom of Ash.

❤️‍🔥These Violent Delights-inspired wooden comb and bag designed by Wink and Wonder

I’m quite impressed with this unique but useful item! And I’m even more excited to read Chloe Gong’s Godfather-esque retelling of Romeo and Juliet!

❤️‍🔥Dark Rise magnet designed by Blanca Designs

Although it’s a smaller item, I always love these perfect little magnets that I can easily stick on my magnetic whiteboard. Dark Rise has been on my TBR and it’s one that I preordered but never got the chance to pick up yet 😬

❤️‍🔥Pan’s Patisserie literary luggage enamel pin by Hey Atlas Creative

Inspired by Serpent & Dove, I’m wishing this is a real place – I’m just amazed at the details on these luggage pins every month! Look at those delicious looking donuts and french bread! I started the audio of Serpent & Dove when it was very hyped but I wasn’t really into it so I never finished it, but this is inspiring me to pick it back up… maybe.

#6 out of 12 Owlcrate collectible literary luggage pins

I can’t believe I’m already halfway through this collection, I just want it to keep going 😭

And finally the featured book of the month…

❤️‍🔥Together We Burn by Isabel Ibañez❤️‍🔥

A lush enchanting standalone fantasy inspired by medieval Spain, filled with a fiery enemies-to-lovers romance, adventure, and just the right amount of danger!

Owlcrate has been stepping up their game with customizations and this is certainly one of their best yet! I think this cover is a better visual for the Spanish inspiration!

✨exclusive cover with character artwork by Syd Mills / @vetyyr
✨reversible dust jacket art by @pauhami
✨exclusive foil stamps on front and back of hardcover case by Tes Medovich / @paperbackbones

✨exclusive red dragon scales end pages
✨signed
✨author letter

cover by @vetyyr

As usual, here is Owlcrate’s perfectly curated playlist – I also found out through the newsletter that Tes Medovich / @paperbackbones is the music magician!

original US cover

Here is a comprehensive list linked to Amazon* of all the titles mentioned in this post:

*As an Amazon Associate, I get a mini % of sales price every time you use my link to make a purchase. Thank you! ^_^

Which cover did you like better? What did you think of this box? Are you an Owlcrate subscriber?

Now, your turn...